What Is the Car Seat Law in Texas?

As a parent in Texas, it might seem as though car seat laws, regulations, and requirements change every year. However, it has been more than 10 years since a substantial change has actually occurred in Texas regarding child seat laws. The current Texas Transportation Code requires that a child under the age of eight be […]

Is It Legal to Ride in the Back of a Truck in Texas?

If you grew up in Texas, you are well aware of the joke that pickup trucks outnumber people in many state counties. The sight of children, or even adults, in your neighborhood riding in the back of a pickup truck was probably a common sight throughout your life. However, the question has probably lingered in […]

What Are the Car Accident Laws in Texas?

The only way to protect your rights after a car accident is to learn the local laws and an Austin car accident lawyer can help. After any car crash in Texas, you need to understand which laws might influence the outcome of your insurance or personal injury claim. While each case is different, there are […]

Overview of Texas Workers’ Compensation Laws

Every state has its own workers’ compensation programs and laws, which serve to aid injured workers in the aftermath of work-related accidents. Texas’ Workers’ Compensation Act in Texas Labor Code, Title 5, outlines the provisions of the state’s workers’ comp program. Certain employers must abide by these laws to protect their employees in the event […]

Is Lane Splitting in Texas Legal?

California was the first state to legalize lane splitting, but Texas may not be far behind. Lane splitting refers to a motorcyclist driving between traffic lanes on highways in slow or stopped traffic. While there remains an ongoing debate about the safety of lane splitting, Texas lawmakers are ruling on the legality of this practice. […]

What Are the Texas Distracted Driving Laws Drivers Should Know?

In Travis County in 2015, the most recent data on record, a total of 4,935 crashes involved distracted driving. In the counties surrounding Austin (Burnet, Blanco, Hays, Caldwell, Bastrop, and Williamson), 3,431 crashes involved distracted drivers. Comparatively, Travis County recorded a total of 1,624 drunk driving accidents during the same year. The data shows an […]

What Are Texas’ Parental Responsibility Laws?

When a minor child is responsible for someone else’s property damage or personal injury, the juvenile justice system takes a different approach to liability than in cases involving adults. Often, the courts assign liability to the child’s parents. Many parents don’t realize that the courts can hold them legally responsible for the actions and behavior […]

What Are the Car Insurance Requirements in Texas?

Texas law requires all drivers to have adequate car insurance. According to state law, Texas drivers need to have minimum insurance coverages of $30,000 per injured person, up to at least $60,000 per accident. Additionally, Texas drivers must have coverage for property damage of at least $25,000. Insurance and legal professionals refer to these coverage […]

Do Cyclists Have to Wear Helmets in Austin, Texas?

When people discuss bicycle laws, one of the first questions usually involves helmets. Most states do not enforce helmet laws for adult bicyclists but may require children to wear them. If you plan to bicycle in Austin or around other areas in Texas, here’s what you should know. State and Local Bicycle Helmet Laws The […]